Dungeon Masters, Game Masters, and Potatoes

After going back and forth with Tommi, I think I realized I should probably clear something up about some nomenclature I’m going to be using in my blog.

Firstly, I’m going to use the term “Dungeon Master,” or DM. Even though I rarely roll Dungeons and Dragons or any other D20 system. I just prefer the term to “Game Master,” or GM. Why? I don’t know. Nostalgia. The same reason people still ask for a Kleenex or use Google as a verb. The same reason I still call them stewardesses. Because some names and terms come with a certain cachet.

Game Master sounds so formal, Dungeon Master has that je ne sais quoi. I feel Game Master is to Dungeon Master as “You do 14 Damage” is to “You cut off his head with a dastardly blow.”

Also, while we’re working on a little nomenclature, I should clarify something else. I’m not prone to use the word ‘game’. I’ll use the word ‘session’ to describe an adventure, an evening with the players. I’ll use the word ‘campaign’ to indicate multiple, successive sessions featuring the same setting and the same PCs. I’ll use ‘setting’ to refer to the world of the campaign. And I’ll use the word ‘system’ to refer to the rule set. I will use the word ‘game’ to refer to HALO and Clue.

Last, but certainly not least, unless I’m specifically writing about female role players (Geek’s Dream Girl, I’m looking at you), I’m going to stick to the gender pronoun ‘he’. Nothing sexist, but it’s what I’m going to use. I don’t really feel the need to defend the decision.

That’s it. I’ll probably revisit nomenclature later.

2 responses to “Dungeon Masters, Game Masters, and Potatoes

  • ChattyDm

    Funny you should talk about that. I easily get tangled in these all the time.

    I play D&D almost exclusively so I consider myself a DM but I’ve try to use GM when I post a generic RPG post (I’m known to slip). I’m not sure anyone cares all that much and I may do exactly as you do.

    As for pronouns… yeah.. after using he/she once or twice in a parapraph one grows weary of all the clunkyness engendred for the sake of correctness…

  • Geek's Dream Girl

    I’m cool with you calling players “he”. But then again, I’m also the kind of girl who will point out hot girls to my boyfriend when we’re out on the town. 😉 I’m just special. (What kind of special is up for grabs…)

Leave a Reply

